The Honey Spike

The Honey Spike

So another hugely play was staged by the Tarbert Theatre Players over two dates in Tarbert Community Centre and then over four dates in St Johns Theatre from last Thursday to last night ( Sunday) to packed houses each evening.

This play was penned by Bryan Mc Mahon and tells the story of the Claffey family from who travel from Kenmare in the South to the Giants Causeway in the North of Ireland and back to Kerry so Breda Claffey can give birth in her favoured Honey Spike ( Hospital ).

The play was directed by Mary Lavery Carrig and had a big support crew with people like Trish Griffin on lighting , Helen Enright took on the Sound department with the help of Jack Mulvihill , Eithne Griffin was in charge back stage with Maura Mc Dermott taking up a new role this year as Costume and Make up manager , the set management was controlled by Johnny Block Mulvihill and Danielle Considine. Maureen Considine played the part of MC and this author played a small role as Front Of House.

What the last few months have shown is that hard work and team work do make a winning combination and those two aspects have helped bring this play back to life. This play follows on from the staging of Diarmy a few years back.

The Cast had some new faces this year with people like James Enright , Sean Carrig and Les Pledge coming on board alongside some more familiar faces like PJ Normile , Yvonne O Keeffe Fox and Tom Stack. The Cast numbered 18 in total and that is tough to marry all the different personalities but they managed it perfectly and delivered 6 wonderful nights of entertainment to full houses.

The Tarbert Theatre Players will take a well earned break for a few months and who knows they may be back in 2019, We will just have to wait and see……

The Full Cast was :

Narrator/ Sergeant O Brien : John Dowling

Breda Claffey : Yvonne O Keeffe Fox

Martin Claffey : PJ Normile

Mickle Sherlock : Tom Stack

Poll Poll Sherlock : Priscilla Donovan

Meg Mc Cutcheon/ Traveller Women 3 : Trish Healy

Horan IRA Man : Padraig O Connor

IRA Man 1/ DickeyBird : Shane Wall

IRA Man 2 / Shone Mc Queen : Cormac Wall

British Army Officer : Les Pledge

British Army Sergeant : Sean Carrig

British Army Private : James Enright

Midland Housewife : Niamh Wall

Franciscan Monk : Gerry O Connell

Winifred Mc Queen : Noelle Mc Gibney

Michael Anthony Mollumby : Thomas Mulvihill

Traveller Women 1 : Helen Enright

Traveller Woman 2 : Angela O Connor

Support Crew :

Front Of House : Cian Mc Gibney

Set Manager : Johnny Block Mulvihill , Danielle Considine

Costume / Make Up : Maura Mc Dermott

Back Stage Manager : Eithne Griffin

Sound Manager’s: Helen Enright / Jack Mulvihill

Lighting Manager : Trish Griffin

Director/Producer : Mary Lavery Carrig

MC : Maureen Considine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *