My 6 Nations Team of the Championship

15 George Furbank

14 Calvin Nash

13 Tomas Menenchello

12 Bundee Aki

11 James Lowe

10 Jack Crowley

9 Jamison Gibson Park

8 Ben Earl

7 Tommy Reffell

6 Peter O Mahony

5 Tadgh Beirne

4 Joe Mc Carthy

3 Tadgh Furlong

2 Dan Sheehan

1 Andrew Porter

Here is my team of the 6 nations that saw Ireland win back to back Championships and win a 6th title since the 6 Nations came to be in 2000. Like all team selections it is subjective and will be easily disagreed with. Here is hoping Italy in particular can build on two wins and a draw from this campaign.

Wales need to continue the tough rebuild job from the bottom up as this campaign has shown the cracks from last season haven’t been dealt with and it is imperative that the WRU do what they can to try and get the Welsh game back on an even keel.

Ireland of course won a 6th crown of the 6 Nations era and a 15th outright Championship. These are special moments and yes while the World Cup issues will linger until 2027 at least, winning another title is something to be celebrated and not taking for granted as many ex-players and supporters will tell you, these wins were owe so seldom for large periods through the 80s and 90s so soak it up and enjoy it. What is seldom really is special….

Tarbert All Ireland Champions

Tarbert Comprehensive School 2024 All Ireland C Post Primary School Champions

Tarbert Comprehensive School reached the promised land on Saturday afternoon winning a titanic battle with St Malachy’s winning after extra time 3-19 (28) to St Malachy’s 4-13 (25). They won the day having worked tirelessly over the 80 minutes to gain the upper hand and come out on top.

The final was played in Carlow in Netwatch Dr Cullen Park, both sides brought huge support from the respective schools, be they teachers, school staff members and family members aswell as the wider communities from both areas.

Given the work of many sport organisations in recent years to improve coverage of local sports, this saw Saturday’s game streamed live on Youtube thanks to Stream Sport. Having it on Youtube meant a large amount of people could easily follow the action as it happened if you could not travel to Carlow.

The talk over the past few months about what this group had achieved was fantastic to hear and full credit goes to the group of players, management and everyone else associated with the school in recent months.

Having gone 11 points up in the 2nd half of Saturday’s final one felt The Comp had done the necessary to put the cherry on the cake but in fairness to St Malachy’s they like Tarbert didn’t give in easily and found a way back from 11 down and to go one up toward the finish only for Comp team captain Shaun Wren to kick a crucial late “45” to bring the game to extra time and from there The Comp found that extra gear over the extra 20 minutes.

They won by 3 with John Coolahan finding the net with his second goal of the afternoon to help seal the deal. The way the different communities within the school have come together has been so impressive. That is the beauty of sport it really brings everyone together for a cause that all can get involved in.

From the top down from Richard Prendiville school principal and Leila Moloney deputy principal to the staff in the office everyone has a part to play in helping this happen over the last while.

The pride shown by everyone towards the team and the pride in the school has been so lovely to watch. They of course got the traditional welcome home on Saturday evening of bonfires. Today they had the whole school community and wider community have the opportunity to show their appreciation for what was a magnificent achievement after winning Kerry, Munster and to then top it off by winning an All-Ireland.

 It is a moment in time that must be appreciated and as has been the case over the past 48 hours celebrated by all. Huge congratulations again to players, management and school staff.

Here is the Panel in Full :

Tarbert Comprehensive School

Management Team: Cormac Leane, Kieran Culhane, Martin Trench & Martin Stack

1 Stephen Kearney (St. Senans/Foynes)

2 Shane O Gorman Stack (Tarbert)

3 Callum Buckley (Athea)

4 Michael Coolahan (Tarbert)

5 James Kissane (Moyvane)

6 David Mulvihill (Tarbert)

7 Fionn Mulvihill (Moyvane)

8 Brendan O Leary (Tarbert)

9 Patrick O Connor (Moyvane)

10 Evan Curry (Athea)

11 Shaun Wren (c) (Tarbert)

12 Caolam Moriarty (Tarbert)

13 John Coolahan (Tarbert)

14 Jamie Moloney (Moyvane)

15 Paudie Finucane (Tarbert)

16 Aaron White (Tarbert)

17 Tadhg O Connell (Tarbert)

18 Darragh Mullane (Gerald Griffins)

19 Matthew Quinn (Moyvane)

20 Cathal Byrne (Ballylongford)

21 Fionn Byrne (Ballylongford)

22 Kealan Lonergan (Shannon Gaels)

23 Aidan Healy (Glin)

24 Liam Hanrahan (Ballylongford)

25 Gavin O Connor (Tarbert)

26 Jack Finnerty McCoy (Castlemahon/Gerald Griffins)

27 James Broderick (Athea)

28 Caoimhin Barron (Clounmacon)

29 Cathal Halton (Tarbert)

30 Billy Hogan (Glin)

Additional Players (Names only)- Donal Finucane, Seamus Dillane, Conor Fealey, Cillian Mulvihill, Harry O Connor

, Charlie McDonagh, Sean Moore, Conor Woulfe